WineBoard
1973 Domaine Jaboulet-Vercherre Clos De Vougeot - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Pinot Noir/Red Burgundy (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-29.html)
+--- Thread: 1973 Domaine Jaboulet-Vercherre Clos De Vougeot (/thread-6554.html)

- Rebelrona - 12-22-2005

I am wondering if anyone out there knows of this wine, winery or vintage. It's an estate bottle from the Cote D'Or region of France. Is it worth anything? If so what?

I'm just getting into collecting wine and was given this as a gift.

- wondersofwine - 12-22-2005

Welcome to the wine board. Hope to hear from you again as you explore the wine world.
Clos du Vougeot is a Grand Cru Burgundy (highest classification in Burgundy above Premier Cru or village wines, etc.) However I looked up 1973 on a vintage chart and it was listed as below average. Many Burgundies start to fade after 15-20 years. A grand cru might still be enjoyable if it was a good vintage year--not so sure about one from a below average year. I also am not familiar with the producer which is an important indicator of quality in Burgundy wines. (There is a Jaboulet firm associated mainly with Rhone wines and this may be a part of that family.) The fact that it is a Grand Cru is impressive. The vintage is not. It probably should be opened soon with a backup bottle if this is over-the-hill.

[This message has been edited by wondersofwine (edited 12-22-2005).]

- winoweenie - 12-22-2005

WOW is rite on. Open this and hopefully you have something drinkable. WW

- wdonovan - 12-22-2005