WineBoard
J. Lohr Seven Oaks Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon (year??) - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Cabernet Sauvignon (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-19.html)
+--- Thread: J. Lohr Seven Oaks Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon (year??) (/thread-5083.html)

- Deputy - 02-05-2006

I ordered this with my steak tonight at the ever pleasant steakhouse, The Keg. I originally ordered a Malbec but they were out, and this was $11.50 CAD a glass, so I had big expectations and high hopes.

I was very disappointed. Now, I should preface this with the fact that I am new to wine generally and may not have developed a taste for a strong Cab yet. It might be why I didn't like the Rocca delle Macie Chianti on the other thread.

The wine was a nice garnet colour. Aromas were very alcoholic and oaky. Taste was overpoweringly alcoholic, oaky, and tannic. If there's a good wine in there, I wasn't able to find it. Perhaps it's just young and closed, or maybe that's what it's supposed to taste like, but it was anything but smooth.

Not good.

Personal taste would give it a 75, tops.

- brappy - 02-06-2006

Just so I don't have to find the conversion, can you tell me how many american $ that is? The price seems high, even for a restaurant.

- TheEngineer - 02-06-2006

It's about $10.12 USd or about what an entire bottle of J Lohr goes for in the US.

- Deputy - 02-06-2006

Most restaurants here tend to sell a glass of wine for a few dollars less than a bottle would cost in the store.

It makes me ill, to be honest.

- Innkeeper - 02-06-2006

We find it to be a very serviceable $10 Cab. Your bottle may have been open too long.

- Glass_A_Day - 02-06-2006

They are known for being a bit on the oaky side but agree with IK that it is usually decent and was probably open too long.

[This message has been edited by Glass_A_Day (edited 02-06-2006).]