WineBoard
Wines and Cheeses - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Wine/Food Affinities (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: Wines and Cheeses (/thread-287.html)

- Justme - 12-01-2002

Hi Folks..I am a novice at matching wines/food. I am hosting a tasting of my favorite whites - all for the novice: Sauvignon Blanc, Pinio Gris, Pinio Grigio, Champagne. What cheeses match best with each?

- wondersofwine - 12-02-2002

Bleu cheese or goat cheese go nicely with Sauvignon Blanc. Perhaps a Romano or Asiago cheese with Pinot Grigio. I'll encourage others to make their suggestions as well.

- Innkeeper - 12-02-2002

Hi Me, and welcome to the Wine Board. First of all, you only have three wines there. Pinot gris and Pinot Grigio are the same. If you want to stay with whites, you may want to replace one with a riesling.

With the sauvigon blanc try Crottin de Chavignol (France), Appenzeller (Swiss), Cabrie (France), or Caephilly (Wales).

With riesling try Livarot (France), Maytag Blue, or Boorenkaas (Holland).

With the Champagne the only answer is Brie.

With the pinot g try Fontina or Port du Salut, other semi-soft cheese.

- joeyz6 - 12-02-2002

I second the crottin de chavignol suggestion. That is some good stuff (I'll be having some tonight, in fact).

- Justme - 12-02-2002

Hmmmm...thanks for the replies, suggestions, and the nice tip on the Pinios. I have a lot of learning to do...

I love Fontina and Port du Salut...but did not know what to match them to. I will definitely try the Crottin de Chavignol..can't wait!

Thank you Wondersofwine, Joeyz6, and Innkeeper. I will surely have more questions soon.

- Justme - 12-02-2002

Oops another question regarding same topic. Would a chardonay fit with the other whites being served...instead of the riesling?

- Innkeeper - 12-02-2002

Sure and match it with a smoked mozzarella.