WineBoard
What Wine With What Food - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Wine/Food Affinities (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: What Wine With What Food (/thread-281.html)

- RLMF - 11-24-1999

I am new to all of this and I am a big beer drinker. (Guinness and such...not Bud) So obviously I need help. I am taking my girlfriend (a wine drinker) to the Four Seasons in Manhattan for dinner, and I don't want to seem like an idiot. We have been together for three years and I want to learn for her....so what goes with what and is ther a website that contains all of this?

- Randy Caparoso - 11-25-1999

The old "rule" -- white wine with white meat and red wine with red meat -- will only take you so far, but it does work a good 60%, 70% of the time.

But contemporary restaurant cooking being what it is these days -- especially with seafood being served in rather rich settings so that they are actually better with light red wines, plus the fact that couples often end up ordering a mix of dishes -- I think it's smarter to go with the following route.

First, start with glasses of Champagne, which is a good thing to break the ice plus which can usually carry you through the amuse bouche (the freebie appetizer formal restaurants like to send out) and even the appetizer/first course that you order yourself.

Second, you'll need to decide on a bottle (bottles are definitely more debonair than wines by the glass) that may have to go with your salad and entree. Sorting out food/wine affinities can indeed be complicated, but there is a pretty much full-proof, simple solution: