WineBoard
Wine sediments - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Wine sediments (/thread-19744.html)

- Kayden - 12-18-1999

I have a 1979 Wollsteiner Rheingrafenstein Kabinett that I have been storing for years. Two questions:

1.Is this wine worth continuing to store or is it going to taste like vinager when I open it? (it has always been stored in dark/cool/on side etc.).

2. There are sediments that have "built up" on the bottom (side) of the bottle during storing periods. Should I not disturb the sediments? Would shaking the bottle not be good for the wine?

Thanks
K

- Randy Caparoso - 12-18-1999

I cannot tell you about the specific wine you have, since I have no experience it. But I do know German wine, and they tend to be a lot more durable than a politician on the presidential trail.

If, when you open your bottle, it is still a bright golden color (and not a dirty brown), chances are you're doing fine. If it smells fruity, honeyish, or even slightly petrol-like, you're doing better -- that's how old German whites smell. Chances are, it will taste just fine -- a little tired, perhaps ('79 was considered an average year), but fine. But just in case, I'd have a backup bottle of a younger wine ready just in case (if you're waiting for an occasion) the wine comes out tasting flat as a Republican at a tree huggers' rally.