WineBoard
Best snacks/easy food with Red Wine?? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Best snacks/easy food with Red Wine?? (/thread-19673.html)

- sgs01 - 12-05-2000

Hello guys, I'm a newbie here as well as to wines, but recently been frequently dining at finer restraunts, and fell in love with the taste & feel of red wine.
Now I'm ordering red wines, and would like to enjoy the bottle at home with OR without company, really would like to know what types of snacks to go with it? (cheese? crackers? prefer salty) thanks !!

- mrdutton - 12-06-2000

Hard cheeses and red wines mix nicely. High salt concentrations don't do well with reds with a lot of tannins (since the salt emphasizes the bitterness of the tannin). Try drinking a Riesling or a Gewurztraminer with smoked, salty, hard cheeses.

Try Parmesan, Asiago, Gruyere and nicely aged Cheddars from England or America with your medium to full bodied reds. Montepulciano d'Abruzzo comes to mind as does Cabernet Sauvignon. Barolo, Barbaresco (and even Champagne, which of course is not red) would work, also.

Brie with whites from burgundy - except I've also liked tasting brie encroutte with light to medium bodied reds - such as Beaujolais or Pinot Noir. I've also enjoyed Brie and seafood with Prosecco.

Other snacks...... sausages and such with light to medium bodied reds. Shell fish with French Chardonnay, oysters with Champagne. Crab meat with Alsatian Pinot Gris, Chablis, Sauvignon Blanc or Prosecco.

The very best way to figure out what YOU like with your snacks is to try several different items with several different wines. You'll learn quickly which ones you like and don't like.........