WineBoard
Pinot Noir - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Pinot Noir (/thread-19522.html)

- loreliew - 03-01-1999

I have a presentation to make to my peers on Pinot Noir. We'll be comparing Louis Jadot, Rodney Strong, B.V. Carneros, Meridian, Fetzer Barrel Select and Van Duzer. I am unable to taste all these wines at one time prior to the tasting and would like any of your professional comments on anything which would be important to take notice of at the tasting. I just found this website as I'm new to the internet, you all are great!! Thanks

- Bucko - 03-01-1999

These producers vary quite a bit in the style of Pinot that they bottle. I would concentrate on the vast range of styles that Pinot can be made in - try to appreciate each for its own showing. Do compare them to one another, because you WILL have a favorite style, and this may lessen your appreciation for what the vintner is trying to say.

Bucko

- Woodman - 03-02-1999

I think Bucko's got it right here. Most of these are "everyday" kinds of pinot noirs, not the "trophy" wines that get rave reviews. They are likely to be good solid values and, as such, you are not likely to get a wine that is either awful or horribly disappointing for the price -- so concentrate on stylistic (and regional) differences. Take note of where the grapes were grown and the flavors you get -- strong herbal notes in anything from Santa Barbara would be one prediction from here.

My question for you is, which Jadot wine are you including? Jadot makes and markets everything from something labeled "pinot noir" to Grand Cru bottlings that cost over $100 apiece. Your choice of Jadot wine will definitely influence the outcome of this tasting.

- loreliew - 03-02-1999