WineBoard
Novice with questions on what to store - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Novice with questions on what to store (/thread-19087.html)

- pdxrealtor - 11-25-2005

Like the title says, I am a novice who just took his first wine educational class which has given me an entire new outlook on wine.

Right now I am focused on Cabs from Nappa as this is what I really like. As I learn how to taste and differenciate the different cabs, I will experiment with others. For now though, I would like to know some good wines to store.

I have the place to store them, I just need to know what ones are good right now, and maybe a little on how to tell a good wine for storage. I really like the Robert Mondavi 2003 and was told it was good for storing and should mature well in 10 years. However, I was told this at the Mondavi Vineyard so it might be biased. Any opinions?

I hear that the reserves store the best to store, and I don't mind splurging once or twice a year on a bottle or two, the thing with that is I like to taste one and store one for comparison.... this can get expensive for the reserve bottles.

What about Louis Martini 2001 cab? Regular not reserve. I like it along with Sterling 2002, although the 2002 is almost too smooth for me.... not enough bite.

Any help for what cabs in the 30-40 dollar range are good for storing let me know.

Also, good vineyards to try out when it comes to cabs.

I live in Oregon so if anyone ever needs help getting some good pinots, let me know.

- wondersofwine - 11-26-2005