WineBoard
Next Morning - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Next Morning (/thread-19078.html)

Pages: 1 2

- newtoowine - 02-16-2006

One thing I am learning from wine is the next morning can be rough. I have noticed that if I have 4 or more glasses in an evening the headache is there the next morning. Since I'm just starting out my enthusiasm gets the better of me once I start trying different bottles. Any secrets to help with the headache.

- Innkeeper - 02-16-2006

Food, water, and amount. Even if you are quaffing it is a good idea to have some snack food with the wine. Otherwise have your wine with dinner. It is a good idea to have a glass of water for every glass of wine. Don't know what size glasses you are using, but it is a good idea to share your bottle with someone, or keep half for another day.

- Thomas - 02-16-2006

Four glasses at 4 ounces is a pint, is 2/3 a bottle--shouldn't be enough for a hangover, but should drink the water that IK recommends.

Four glases at 5 ounces is 4/5 a bottle--getting close to potential hangover, water is an imperative.

Four glasses at 6 ounces: congratulations, you've finished a bottle. Did you have a bottle of water too? If not, you'll be sorry...

Also, the headache could be a reaction to what's in the wine: histamines, oak.

It's definetly a bottle, not really a hangover in the normal sense but more in the sinus area, I was told anthistamine may help. Some nites it may be over indulgence, yes I always drink water along with beer or wine and this has always helped with beer but not doing as well with the wine.

- Kcwhippet - 02-16-2006