WineBoard
Why not? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Why not? (/thread-18956.html)

- *newbie* - 01-02-2001

OK.....since I am a newbie, I may just be missing the boat on this subject. I purchased a bottle of Beringer Merlot and after trying that I followed that up with a bottle of Chardonay from Beringer. As I opened both bottles I noticed that they (Beringer) had put just enough wax on cork to cover the top. That got me wondering why everyone else doesn't do that??? If corked wine is due to bad cork wood that allows air into the bottle then why not eliminate relying on the cork alone? Simply add a dab of wax on the top. Heck, it makes sense to me. I could see some of the extremely affluent wine drinkers snubbing thier noses at this practice because any great wine that they would drink could not have bad corks. What is the opinion of the BBS?

Doug (flame suit on)

- hotwine - 01-02-2001

I suspect many (if not most) wineries once sealed their corks with red wax, and that the current practice of enclosing the top of the bottle in foil is a fairly recent innovation, probably driven by cost. Maybe some of our members who are or have been wine producers will shed more light on the subject.

- mrdutton - 01-02-2001

Hey Doug, take the suit off. I don't think anyone here will flame you for your comments.

You said: If corked wine is due to bad cork wood that allows air into the bottle then why not eliminate relying on the cork alone? Simply add a dab of wax on the top.

Please read some of the other postings about corked wine. I think you will find out that there is a difference between wine that is corked and wine that has been oxidized because the cork was dried-out and had shrunk some in the bottle's neck.