WineBoard
merlot vs. cabernet - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: merlot vs. cabernet (/thread-18936.html)

- trainer - 10-10-2002

I'm new to wines, so bear with me on this one. I was hoping someone could clearly explain the difference between a cab. and a merlot.

- winoweenie - 10-10-2002

Hi Trainer and welcome to the board. You're looking at 2 different grape variatals that make two different wines. Like apples and oranges. Other red wine grapes you'll probably run across are zinfandel and pinot noir. There are others but that comes in wine course 202. WW

- Innkeeper - 10-10-2002

Cabernet is king, and merlot is the foil; and most often is not good for else.

- toddabod - 10-11-2002

If you like your tongue coated and soaked with tannin's go with a cab, but if you are looking for a less tanic wine that might be easier to drink, go with the merlot. Flame on. [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img]

- leatherman - 10-11-2002

IK must not like the greatest wines in the world since most Bordeaux wines are made with a blend of cab & merlot!!!!

- Kcwhippet - 10-11-2002

leatherman,

You have to know IK and read a little deeper into his reply. I'll guarantee he likes a good Bordeaux. I believe he's also implying there's a lot of not so good Merlots being foisted on the wine drinking public as THE wine of the day.

- toddabod - 10-11-2002