WineBoard
Help to plan a trip - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Help to plan a trip (/thread-18876.html)

- jeremysmichael - 04-19-2005

First off I would like to thank the people on this board for the help you provided me last fall. I had a first date with a woman that I'd had my eye on for a really long time. She is a wine enthusiast and is very knowledgeable on the subject. I asked for some advice on ordering a bottle and you provided me with some much needed assistance as I am a novice to say the least. Long story short, she already knew that I didn't have any prior knowledge but definitely appreciated the fact that I'd went through the trouble to learn a little.
Anyway things have been going very well ever since. I am going to surprise her with a nice relaxing week in California's wine country and I was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction. Any information or links you could provide me would be great. I'd like to know if there is a particular time of year that is better than others. Specific places to stay, eat, or visit. I did some searching on the internet but of course it was just individual links of which they all said they were the best. I appreciate your help.

Thanks - Jeremy

- Innkeeper - 04-19-2005

You will get a lot a good advice on this one too. Though I've recently spent most of my and my wife's time in California in two regions, the Central Coast and Monterey, for the combination of beauty, history, restaurants, and wine (all in one) is is hard to beat the Monterey Peninsula.

Go to the bottom of the board to the Touring Wine Country tread; and go all the way back. You will find a lot of recommendations including reports of three trips we have taken out there.

- Zinner - 04-19-2005