WineBoard
How Long Does Wine Last? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: How Long Does Wine Last? (/thread-18623.html)

- HollyLynn72 - 08-22-2005

I am just starting to learn about wines and have bought my first two bottles; one is a Merlot, and the other is Cabernet Sauvignon. My question is this: Once the wine has been opened, how long will it last? Does wine expire after a certain period of time?

- wondersofwine - 08-22-2005

Welcome to the wine board, Holly!

If you go to the home page of this board:
http://www.wines.com and look down the left side you will see a section for "Learn About Wine" which includes Frequently Asked Questions. Click on the links and under Frequently Asked Questions is one about storing red or white wines once they've been opened.

[This message has been edited by wondersofwine (edited 08-22-2005).]

- HollyLynn72 - 08-23-2005

Thank you very much. I missed that portion of FAQ's when I first read it. Thanks for pointing that out to me, it was very helpful!

- wondersofwine - 08-23-2005

You're welcome. What kind of wines do you like?

- goblue - 08-23-2005

Hello,

How well do you think the wine pumps work for saving the wine. I have a simple one and it only seems to keep the wine for a day max.

- winoweenie - 08-23-2005

They are not efficient, or I should say they're useless. The only way to get any extension in the life of an opened bottle is a dispenser " Private Preserve ". This combination of nitrogen, carbon dioxide, and argon gases blanket the wine. The cost is about 10 bucks and will handle about 120 opened bottles. WW

- goblue - 08-23-2005

Really, it's only $10? I would have guessed it was more expensive. I'll check my local wine shop, I think they carry it. Have you used it before??

- HollyLynn72 - 08-27-2005