WineBoard
What IS it about Red Zinfandel? ? ? Help! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: What IS it about Red Zinfandel? ? ? Help! (/thread-18573.html)

- Marti - 12-05-2003

Dear Wine Afficionados,

I am new to wine drinking and fine that I am much more into whites. However, Red Zinfandel is a red wine that I can tolerate and even enjoy. There is something about Red Zinfandels--both smell and taste and aftertaste--that is markedly different than Syrahs, Merlots, Cabs, Pinots, etc. What is it? I cannot put my finger on it! Any adjectives describing the differences between these reds, especially why I might tolerate the red zin. would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!!!!

- winoweenie - 12-05-2003

Red and Black berries, cocao, varying spices, tons of up-front fruit to begin with. WW

- Marti - 12-05-2003

Thank you Wino. Is it possible that Red Zins have less of a tannic taste? I keep hearing about this quality....

- amw5g - 12-05-2003

Tannins aren't a taste, they are more of a tactile sensation. Kinda like when you bite an under-ripe banana or drink strong tea- it gives you that weird feeling on your tongue and gums. Those are the tannins.
I'm sure others will expound upon that better than I can.
-Andrew

- Drew - 12-06-2003

Actually tannins do have a flavor profile for me ranging from bitter to sweet but the mouth puckering/cotton feeling in you mouth is the tannic response you first experience. I also find that tannins display an assortment of texture from fine grain to coarse. For me Zins differ from others in that they display racy intense fruit and spice.

Drew

- amw5g - 12-06-2003

Drew,