WineBoard
Please help! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Please help! (/thread-18394.html)

- LaurenQ - 03-03-2004

Hi!
I am VERY new to the world of wine... I need help locating a red wine that is under $20, pretty sweet, NOT bitter, and can be enjoyed alone. I have tried some, but the are all very bitter. I would like a wine that doesnt have a strong after taste, just very fruity... Can you help??
thank you,
Lauren

- LaurenQ - 03-03-2004

OK, I did a little more research on past posts, and figured i should revise my post a little! (by the way, I am sorry that I am asking a tired question!!)
I do not want a dry/ spicey wine at all, and after reading some past replies, it seems that a port could be what I am looking for, does this sound right? If so, can you recommend some that are great, but aren't too pricey?? I appreciate your answers!! Also, I live in the kansas city area-
Thanks again,
Lauren

- marleyspud - 03-03-2004

Hi, a great and affordable port is Australia's Clock Tower($11). It is a tawny port and one of the best Ive had. MS

- Drew - 03-03-2004

Benjamin is everywhere for $10 or less also Wiskers Blake is excellent for about $15, btw, both are Australian tawney ports.

Drew

- Innkeeper - 03-03-2004

Hi Lauren, and welcome to the Wine Board. The "Ports" from Oz are fine. We particularly like the Wiskers Blake. A nice one from Portugal is Warre's Warrior, Special Reserve, Porto. It is widely available for under $15. If you want to jump up the $20-$30 price point there is a sea of great Port from Warre and others.

- Tastevin - 03-03-2004