WineBoard
What are you drinking? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: What are you drinking? (/thread-18369.html)

- lizardbrains - 01-02-2005

Okay, sorry for the crazy subject line! It gave me a laugh!!! :-)

I just read your top 10s for the year, and I'm struck by something. Do most of you drink non-American wines?

When I first started drinking wine (3 years ago), I was so overwhelmed. I found you all here (love ya!), read Wine for Dummies (on your recommendation - thank you!), and decided to start with American wines b/c they seemed easy to understand (ie: Chardonnay is Chardonnay, so then I just have to decide which "brand" of Chardonnay I like - I was/am a total newbie).

Now that I know what I like in the U.S., maybe I need to step out of my comfort zone.

I really liked some South African wines that IK shared with me (thanks IK!). So, I know that there's a whole big world ready for me to step into! I guess it's kind of like getting off the bus on your first day of school.

Where do I start? I am happy in my little bubble of American wines - it's easy! But help me realize the greater potential!

Thanks!,
Elizabeth

- Innkeeper - 01-02-2005

You can start with those lists you looked at. Then check out the specific threads on wines you might be interested in, e.g. Italian, South of France, Australian, etc. Tons of good info there.

- Drew - 01-02-2005

My cellar is probably 50% American (Mostly California), 30% Australian and 20% everything else, (France, S. Africa, S. America, Italian). I feel relatively comfortable with most countries except Italy which I'm just starting to explore more.

Drew

- joeyz6 - 01-02-2005