WineBoard
another new wine lover, looking for more to love - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: another new wine lover, looking for more to love (/thread-18329.html)

- Wine-O - 11-21-2002

While I am not new to drinking wine I am new to finally appreciating it. Like a fine wine I'm maturing with age! okay bad joke. Anyway, I really would like to be able to know more about wines and at least be able to walk into a wine store and know a thing or two when picking one out rather then just knowing if I'm looking for a red, white, or pink. I've started reading "Wine for Dummies" and it's packed with information and I'm only on Chapter 3! I can see I have barely begun to scratch the surface. I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed and I'm looking for someone to maybe point me in the right direction into become the "wine snob" my friends claim I want to be! :-)

- Innkeeper - 11-21-2002

Hi Wine-O, and are warm welcome to the Wine Board. If anythings is more comfortable that "Dummies" is has to be Andrea Immer's "Great Wine Made Simple." I use it all the time after having read it in one sitting. Right now I'm more slowly wadding through her new book, "Great Tastes Made Simple."

- Auburnwine - 11-21-2002

Practice! Practice! Practice!

Find other like minded souls to taste wine with (there's probably a wine club in your area). Discuss what you like and don't like. Take notes.

Maybe take a wine tasting course at a local university.

Go to wine tastings where you have an opportunity to test a cross-section.

Drink a wide array of varietals and blends to find what you like and don't like.

- Wine-O - 11-21-2002