WineBoard
Dom Perignon - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Dom Perignon (/thread-18252.html)

- Pville - 01-31-2002

Hello everyone, thank you for taking the time to read my posting.

I am a 23-year-old Engineer who is about to make the plunge into the world of holly matrimony. My fiancé and my wedding is this coming Labor Day, and we have begun the long ordeal of ironing out our wedding day details. As a wedding night surprise, I am entertaining the idea of buying two bottles of Dom Perignon; one to share with each other on our wedding night, the second to share with each other on an anniversary some years down the road.

I guess I would like to request for any tid-bits of info that anyone may have for me as I select the perfect bottle. As I started looking at prices and availability, it seemed that a bottle of Vintage 1993 would be a good choice just due to it's much larger availability, and thus lower cost. However, as I read more and more, I found that the 1990 Vintage was a much better bottle, but much more. The cost wasn't that big of a deal for me (you only get married once, right?) it's just as a started looking for places that had bottles of 1990 Vintage, I started finding bottles that were being sold WAY cheaper at some locations than at others. For example; one place I found a bottle of 1990 Dom was priced at 252.00, whereas a second place I found was at 139.00. What I did notice, however, was that the cheaper selections always had the word "Cuvee." What does that mean? Does it mean anything? Is there anything I should know about different types of Dom? Is there any thing I should know about the seller before purchasing a bottle?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

- Innkeeper - 01-31-2002