WineBoard
Texas wines? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Texas wines? (/thread-18182.html)

- malarkey - 06-13-2010

Hello, I'm new here and new to Austin as well. I've been working on an interest in wine for several years now, it grew out of my love of food & cooking.

My question is.. what's the scoop with Texas wines? I notice they don't have their own section in the forum. I was a volunteer pourer at the Hill Country Food & Wine Fest this spring, and I tasted a lot of texas wine (as well as others) but... I'm not feeling the love. I've had only one that I found drinkable: Becker's Reserve Cab Sauv, and that was several years ago I had that (haven't had any recent vintages).

I did meet someone who said that some of the growers are starting to plant grapes that match the climate a bit more (rather than all the varietals used in Napa) such as Spanish & Portuguese grapes. Is this true? What is the real scoop? Are there any good TX wines?

me, personally, I'm a francophile, but I am open to trying any & all because that's the only way you learn...

TIA!

- winoweenie - 06-13-2010

Hi M and welcome to the board. One of our Moderators lives in Heloites and owns some potential vineyard property in the hill country. I'm sure that Hotwine will give his 14 dollars worth when he gets up from his afternoon siesta. WW

- Innkeeper - 06-13-2010

Hi Malarkey, and welcome to the the Wine Board. We have enjoyed many Texas wines in the past, but not recently because it is even more difficult to get wines out of Texas than into Texas. Privious tastings occured during trips to Texas which were much more frequent when we lived in Nebaraska.