WineBoard
Recommendations on wines to cellar - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Recommendations on wines to cellar (/thread-17976.html)

- Johmar - 11-21-2006

Hi fellow wine enthusiasts!

I am new to this board; I have in the past made several thousand dollars in wine purchases that I cellared back in 1995. I am nearing the point where I need to make another large purchase. I do not know what to choose. In 1995, I walked into my local wine shop and told them of my intentions. They selected all the wine for me. Some aged well others did not. Over all, it was not what I expected for the amount of the investment. I am only interested in Red's. I am not an expert, but I love an excellent Red and despise a poor one. I would like a range of pricing and reccomendations to cellar over a ten year period, drinking them as we go, if that is fesable. Again, I am a novice so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

John

- Innkeeper - 11-21-2006

Hi John, and welcome to the Wine Board. I'm going to leave your post here, but also move it up the Novice thread, because a. It will get more action there, and b. This thread is really about bricks and mortar than what goes in it.

- Innkeeper - 11-21-2006

Hi again. There have been many changes in the wine world during the last eleven years. The most prominent change involves hang time. Because of the popularity of big overblown wines, vinters are required to leave grapes on the vine until they practically rot. Unfortunately this creates big fruit high alcohol wines that are usually badly out of balance with exceedingly high pH. This meaning they will not age well.