WineBoard
UK Wine sales - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: UK Wine sales (/thread-17972.html)

- herbaljoe - 10-29-2007

Hi All,

New to the forum, so a big hello.
I have been reading with great pleasure so far but i just had comment on a few issues from England UK.
Recently i have been seeing an increase in so called "Wine Consultants" selling Pieroth Wines www.pieroth.de and Jakob Gerhardt www.jakobgerhardtfinewines.co.uk I know that both of these brands have had bad press in the past for different reasons but i wanted to know more about how quilified their "Wine Consultants" are? Do they hold a current Bsc, Diploma or Degree in Wine? I am currently studying for my diploma in wine studies and i do feel that it takes more skill, experience and passion to learn and communicate about quality wine. Don't get me wrong i'm not knocking the idea of enjoying the experience of tasting and buying wine in your home or using a regular company to supply your wine. But i do feel disheartended with these companies if they are only out to make a fast buck. My real issue is the lack of information about the companies, who owns what, the bad feedback from customers and if they are really using "sales people" in a "wine consultants" clothing. I think a true wine consultant should have a good mix of academic knowledge about the subject or industry they are working in, plus on the job experience, and good few years wine experience in general.

A company is currently asking for Sales Representatives in the local area. They are Vicomte Bernard de Romanet www.romanet.co.uk
But the strange this is! If you go to the career page of www.romanet.co.uk and also the career page on www.pieroth.de they seem to be using the same photography. Is it by chance? Or are they the same company?