WineBoard
Afraid to Experiment - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Afraid to Experiment (/thread-17848.html)

- Kari - 09-28-1999

My husband and I have become homebodies due to our 2 daughters and the fact that I am a full time student. Our weekend pastime is enjoying a bottle of wine or bubbly and renting DVD's. We would like to try new wines, but everytime I find myself lost in the wine racks, I can't justify spending $30 on a bottle of wine we might hate. Our favorite wine is Josef Friederich Piesporter Michelsberg Auslese, 1996. We love the way it makes your mouth water after each sip. Our favorite sparkler is Mumm Cuvee Napa, Brut Prestige. We have tried white zin, and its ok. I have never had a chardonay I liked,(Although I've heard they are quite veried- I don't know which to choose.) and the red wines we have tried (Merlot and Cabernet} have become cooking wines! What should I look for, based on what we already enjoy (and don't)? Also, I heard someone talking about ice wines. Would that be something worth trying? If you have any suggestions on specific wines they would be appreciated. Also tips on deciphering lables. Am I looking for off dry, fruity, oak, full bodied or what?!! our favorite wines don't have info on them, and were found quite by chance.
Thanks in advance,
Kari

- Randy Caparoso - 09-28-1999

Clearly, you like white wine, still or sparkling; and the fact that you like both the Piesporter Michelsberg Auslese (which is fairly sweet) and the Mumm Cuvee Napa Brut Prestige (which is fairly dry) tell me that sweetness/dryness doesn't matter as much to the two of you as the wine being fairly light and smooth.