WineBoard
Sparkler types - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Sparkler types (/thread-17811.html)

- andypandy - 12-25-2005

Lately, perhaps to celebrate the season and my graduation from college, I have started exploring sparkling wines. I have little experience with these, and also have very limited funds to explore much with. As my palate is, generally speaking, young and inexperienced, I would appreciate it if someone could describe for me the general differences in the different types of sparklers. I have tried Proseccos and California Champagnes and am about to try a bottle of cava (Segura Viudas Estate Aria Brut Cava, it was about $12, I think. Anybody know if this is any good?) At the end of this magical journey into new territory I'd like to cap it off with a true Champagne. So there's a couple of questions to answer: basic differences between Cava, Prosecco, California Champagne, true Champagne, or other sparklers, and what's a decent representative of Champagne that's not too pricy for a couple of friends to share? Thanks for y'alls genius. (I was going to post this in the champagne section, but I just feel so comfy here in the novice section, since it fits me the best...)

- winoweenie - 12-26-2005

Hi AP. Seems like every country makes some kind of sparkling wine and have their own name for it. As you probably know the only true champagne is made in France. Prosecco is the general name for Italian sparklers, Cavas from Spain, etc. I just posted on a delightful inexpensive sparkler from New Mexico of all places.If you gop back a year on the Champagne thread you'll find lots of solid choices to invest your hard-earned in. Lovely stuff this "Breakfast of Champions". WW [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/wink.gif[/img]

- andypandy - 12-26-2005