WineBoard
Regions, years, brand???? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Regions, years, brand???? (/thread-17717.html)

- bellarose - 01-15-2003

Hi-I'm really new to wines, Can you tell me about years, regions, and brands to look for???? Please give your personal perfences........price tags are not an issue. thank you

- Innkeeper - 01-16-2003

Hi Bellarose, and welcome to the Wine Board. Would have to write a book to answer your question. Look for Anddrea Immer's "Great Wine Made Simple." Another, and no aspirations intended, is "Wine For Dummies."

Years are important only in so far as they apply to current releases. You should know how the harvest went in various regions for that release. Buying earlier than current releases can be very difficult and expensive.

I don't have favorite wines or regions. I match wine with food, and the food determines what wine from what region I drink. If a friend drops by for a glass of wine, I select one based on what I know about him or her, the kind of day it is, and what mood I'm in. I don't just run down the cellar and pick my favorite.

[This message has been edited by Innkeeper (edited 01-16-2003).]

- Thomas - 01-16-2003

I can add to IK's post only that it is best not to think of wine as a "brand" item. Major brands usually are inferior to the crafted product.The fun of wine is seeking and trying the myriad styles and types that are out there, which is why you need a book to start.

- stevebody - 01-16-2003

Bella,

Two suggestions: