WineBoard
New at this. Can I get some help? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: New at this. Can I get some help? (/thread-17613.html)

- Golfinwstogie - 08-24-2001

I'm in college (one more semester) and recently got myself into wines because I'd take a nice glass of vino over a beer(I dont really know whats good wine and whats bad yet). Considering I'm a college student and broke, what will make me happy with my taste buds and wallet? Thanks Peeps
Jamey

- winoweenie - 08-24-2001

Golfinwstogie, welcome to the board. You didn't say whether you preferred reds or SWs' but if you're in bed with red, the Cline bottlings, the Sutter Home merlots and Cabs, Beringer founders series, and to get an idea on others go to the best buy/steal deals thread, go back 100 days and you'll find tons of stuff. Good luck in your endeavors and welcome to the wonderful world of wine. WW

- summa - 08-24-2001

Trust WW he knows what he's talking about...
So far as reds, I'd also bring up Bogle wines (petite syrah and merlot), & Gallo of Sonoma (especially the cab), as relatively inexpensive easier to find wines.

Also I find every so often, a new Australian winery is marketed in the U.S. and they seem to come up with a great wine at an unheard of price, for one vintage at least. The last of these I've noticed was the Big River Cabernet at less than $10 for 1.5 liters(double size bottle), though they may be into the next, and more watered down vintage by now.

[This message has been edited by summa (edited 08-24-2001).]

- Golfinwstogie - 08-24-2001