WineBoard
Getting Started - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Getting Started (/thread-17596.html)

- newhobby - 01-04-2001

Hi all,

I am new to wine collecting and I wanted some general info.

1. Can all wines be stored for aging or are there specific ones which can and others that will spoil? What do I need to look for?

2. Where should they be stored? Would the change in temperature from season to season affect the wine? If so, what are your recommendations?

Thank you for your assistance.

- Fandelvino - 01-04-2001

Hi, certanly this is not an answer. I have the same questions... I´m a beginner and i´d like to know for a good book about storing wines or amateur cellar.

Bye

- Blue - 01-04-2001

re wine books:

Try Larouse's Encyclopedia of Wines. It costs about $40, has everything you want to know about wine from wine making to cellaring to what wines can keep how long to the different "cepages" to in depth descriptions of nearly all of the world's wine regions.

Great investment, great reading...answers to all your questions.

- barnesy - 01-04-2001

As far as a beginners educational book, I would go with Wine for Dummies. Despite the derogatory title, it is an excellent book that covers all stuff one might need to know at the beginner's level and even beyond. It is priced at about 20 bucks and is easily available. It is written by the only US woman to hold the Master of Wine title and a man who publishes in wine journals and I believe at one point was an english teacher. It is both readible and filled with knowledge.

Barnesy

- Thomas - 01-04-2001

Good book suggestions but wouldn't it be better to consume the wines rather than to collect them?

- chittychattykathy - 01-05-2001