WineBoard
Amarone - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Amarone (/thread-17532.html)

- Tifosi - 07-23-1999

I need all the info I can get on this particular type of wine, I am a novice in wine-world, had this wine in a party and kicked myself not knowing the great pleasures of wine sooner.

- Jason - 07-23-1999

As I was writing my first reply about this I realized that you would need defintions about all the terms used in the explanation itself. Terms like Corvina, Reciotto, and Valpolicella come to mind. You have picked a lulu to start out with.I suggest some reading and then ask about specific terms/methods. The Windows on the World Wine Course is a very good book to start with.

- Jerry D Mead - 07-24-1999

The following is forwarded from a friend who specializes in Italian wines, George Ronay. JDM//

AMARONE is a blend of the same three grape varieties used in two other famous Italian wines from the region around the city of Verona: Corvina, Rondinella and Molinara. The three grapes are used to make Bardolino (from vineyards just west of the city of Verona along the shores of Lake Garda); and Valpolicella (the hills and valleys just north of Verona). Amarone is distinguished by what happens AFTER the grapes are harvested: the grapes are laid out on straw mats in "holding houses" to dry out after the harvest, thus concentrating the sugars. In the winter following harvest (January-February usually), the grapes are crushed and fermented. After a usually extended period of aging (5 years is normal), the resulting wine is bottled and enjoyed. The distinguishing factor of Amarone is that it is (as a result of the extended drying and aging) much higher in alcohol and structure than either Valpolicella and Bardolino.