WineBoard
First anniversary red wine help - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: First anniversary red wine help (/thread-17139.html)

- tiny ham - 07-16-2003

Hi again. My hubby and I are having dinner at Ruth's Chris next weekend for our first anniversary (I've been once before and enjoyed the filet and au gratin potatoes - just delicious).

Anyway, I'm still really new to wines and saw that Ruth's Chris' website recommended a shiraz with their filets. I've never had shiraz and don't know what to expect. We went to Smith and Wollensky in Vegas last month and really enjoyed a bottle of Ballantine 1997 Merlot. I've had more experience with white wines but would like to experiment more with reds and feel next weekend will be a perfect opportunity. I'm not a fan of reds that taste too strong of alcohol, but the merlot last month was wonderful. Should I stick with something similar or try a shiraz? Any recommendations would be appreciated - thanks!

- Innkeeper - 07-16-2003

The fillets at Ruth's Chris is much more steak than at your normal restaurant. I would find it too much for a merlot, at least most merlots. The shiraz would work. My preferance would be an approachable cabernet sauvignon. As I recall they have some nice Australian Cabernet available. The bottom line is that it is your call and your anniversary. If you want to go with a merlot just do this; be sure to talk with a wine steward, and ask (within price points) for the most complex merlot he/she can recommend. The problem with most merlots is that they are not complex, and therefore can't stand up to a hefty steak.

- hotwine - 07-16-2003