WineBoard
Brand New :) - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Brand New :) (/thread-17051.html)

- Moff - 02-20-2003

Hello

I'm new to drinking wine. Does anyone have a link to a good site that explains what most wines are generally supposed to taste like. Or why they are different, for example what make a merlot different from a zinfidel.

The wines I like are mostly whites like Reslings and Piesporters.
I would like more information on how I may be able to find wines that are close to theses tatse and then expand from there.
I dont really like red wines for just drinking but I would like to maybe be able to pick one out for dinner or to take as a gift to a friends house.

Thanks for you help in advance.

- ShortWiner - 02-20-2003

Hello Moff! As someone who was new to wine fairly recently, I'd recommend starting with a good book. I started with Oz Clarke's "Introducing Wine," which worked fine for a while. Many of the pros on this board (which is excellent, by the way--stick around and you'll learn a lot) recommend "Wine for Dummies" which I'm sure you'll be able to find.

Welcome!

- Innkeeper - 02-20-2003

Most Piesporters are made from riesling, so you really like riesling. Great place to start. It takes some folks decades to finally come around to riesling.

Some other whites you may enjoy are chenin blanc as in the Vouvray from Loire, and gewurztraminer. All three, including the riesling come in all different styles and degrees of sweetness to allow you to experiment broadly.

For reds you might start with Beaujolais such as a Beaujolais Villages. Other Beaujolais known as "Crus" include Fleurie and Julienas on the lighter side.

Also recommend the books from ShortWiner.

- ShortWiner - 02-20-2003