WineBoard
Total Newbie...need help - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Total Newbie...need help (/thread-16959.html)

Pages: 1 2

- emkb2271 - 09-06-2002

I've just started getting into the wine thing, and as I've looked through the threads already posted I haven't seen an answer to my particular dilemma.
Basically, I'm looking for a wine which is a bit stronger than grape juice to start with...my plan is to eventually work my way into the more alcoholic wines, but for right now I'm looking for something with a minimal alcohol content.
I would prefer red, but white suggestions would be fine, too. I've noticed on several of the threads that location seems to be a matter of importance, so for reference I live in Northeastern Ohio (USA). Also, I probably should mention that I'm on a college-student's budget, so any recommendations on cheap wines of the sort I mentioned above would be appreciated.
I must admit, if this is an ignorant question, I apologize...my experience with any type of alcoholic drink is very limited.

- winoweenie - 09-06-2002

Hi emkb and welcome to the board. The entry wine of choice around here seems to be white zinfandel. Its' slightly sweeter taste is pleasant to most newbies, plus it fits into a studenta price-point. Sutter Home, Beringer, aand Beau;ieu Vineyards are players in this field. Welcome to the wunnerful wurld uf wine! WW

- hotwine - 09-06-2002

Also suggest you look for Schmit-Sohn Riesling. It's a German white wine at only 7-9% alcohol and $4-$5 at Sam's. Serve it cold with seafood, pork or poultry.

- MuddyOne - 09-10-2002

Alcohol content is listed on wine labels, so you can peruse the bottles to find lower content wines. For a red, I would recomend a red zinfandel. I think it is a good starter wine.