WineBoard
1966 Grand Vin de Chateau Latour - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: RESOURCES AND OTHER STUFF (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-300.html)
+--- Forum: Collectibles/Auction News (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: 1966 Grand Vin de Chateau Latour (/thread-1670.html)

- bolline - 12-13-2005

Hello. I am a wine novice. I try and buy different wines but am no way a pro. I came across a bottle of 1966 Grand Vin de Chateau Latour. I did some searching and found it being currently sold for $1500. As far as I know it has been kept in a cool basement of a house for years. I have read it to be a popular wine. I was told it should of peaked about now but will decline in the next 3 to 5 years. Not sure if I should sell it or drink it. If anyone has any suggestions or can add to its history please feel free to let me know. I do not want it to go to waste. Thanks.

- newsguy - 12-13-2005

hi, and welcome to the board. some people here with more knowledge of aged bordeaux will hopefully chime in, but...

...i'm not sure where you saw this bottling being sold for $1,500; it is available at a fine, reputable wine shop in los angeles for $455. and the '66 latour grand vin is a classic wine (robert parker gave it 96 points and called it the wine of the vintage) -- if it has been stored *perfectly* over the past 35 years. if you only know that it has been in a "cool basement" for years, my guess is this wine could easily have gone past its peak and far into decline. if you try to sell this, any potential buyer is going to want to know exactly how the wine has been stored since its release and i seriously doubt you're going to find any takers at a price that you'd like. that's my long way of saying, drink it with a nice roasted chicken dinner and hope for the best. you *could* have a great bottle there.

[This message has been edited by newsguy (edited 12-13-2005).]

- bolline - 12-13-2005