WineBoard
Seghesio 2004 Sonoma Zinfandel - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Seghesio 2004 Sonoma Zinfandel (/thread-16611.html)

- andypandy - 02-27-2006

I bought this wine because I've been exploring Zins lately and had seen this wine recommended here and elsewhere, and, well, it's absolutely fantastic. I'm enjoying it with a block of moderately aged Gouda, and I don't know, it just tastes perfect to me. I'm not good at wine or telling you what flavors I detect (I wanted to say it makes me think of vanilla and portobello mushrooms, but that sounds ridiculous), moderate to low tannins, and extremely drinkable, all I know is this is fantastic. If I pick up a case or a few of this stuff, how long will the 2004 be good for? At what point will it start turning on me? I want to keep plenty of this juice at my fingertips. Other thoughts on this particular wine?

- Deputy - 02-27-2006

Wow, not cheap. Seghesio Sonoma Old Vine Zin at the BC Liquor Board is $47.

Yow.

- TheEngineer - 02-27-2006

Deputy,

Their regular bottling is around $18 USD and it is rather good.

- andypandy - 02-27-2006

the Sonoma 2004 goes for about $19 if I remember correctly

- brappy - 02-27-2006

Is this the old vines or just the regular sonoma zin? Actually, I don't think the old vines '04 has been released yet. Since this is the regular zin, I would suggest drinking this within the next 5 yrs. It may not turn by then, but it's full potential should be realized within another year.....Or so I think.