WineBoard
I discovered Alice! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: I discovered Alice! (/thread-16393.html)

- willp58 - 02-19-2004

I have been drinking Alice White from Australia -- 50/50 Cabernet/Shiraz and I think it's great so far.
1.5 liter for 10.99 makes this a pretty good bargain as well.

Is this considered a good wine? If not, why?

- Innkeeper - 02-19-2004

Very versitile for a match of midweek menus, or intermittent quaffing.

- Dawgman - 02-19-2004

I have tried Alice White wines and have enjoyed them. What I find interesting in the "wine world" is that people look for confirmation that something is good instead of just going with what they like. If you like it, then it's a good wine. If you don't like it, it's not a good wine - for you anyway. I am fairly new to wine but I have decided that my own mouth, tongue and brain will decide if something is good or not. I will try wine as cheap as $2.99 and as expensive as I can afford. The price and reputation will not decide if it is good. Do I like it? If the answer is yes then it is a good wine for me.
This seems to be a wrong way of determining the "rating" of wine from what I have experienced in the wine world but I'll stick with it.

Just my opinion. Right now I am drinking a $6 bottle of Crocodile Rock Shiraz - fairly non-descript but I wasn't expecting much more.
Have fun and enjoy your juice!

- willp58 - 02-19-2004

Dawg, thanks for the reply...Must be I'm a clod because I've tried expensive wine and cheap wine...I honest-to-God can't tell much difference.
I guess that's why I ax ppl's opinion on the differnt ones.
Maybe it takes years to develop the very "advanced" taste buds for this..

- Dawgman - 02-19-2004