WineBoard
2 expensive wines, how did I fair? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: 2 expensive wines, how did I fair? (/thread-16200.html)

- Peter rotelle - 08-28-2001

I recently went to dinner at Toppers on Nantucket? My wine expertise is minimal. I order the following wines:
Mazis-Chambertine Grand Cru '85
Massseto '92
I paid $215 & $190 respectfully.
What are the ratings on these wines and where they priced reasonably? I look forward to hearing your responses.
Peter

- RAD - 08-28-2001

I'm not familiar with these wines personally, but that ain't saying much. I searched for them both on Wine Spectator (I have a full access subscription), and found nothing.

That being said, the fact that 1) you bought these wines at a restaurant, and 2) this restaurant is on Nantucket, probably means that you didn't get the best "deal."

But all things are relative. Did you enjoy the wines?

RAD

By paying "respectfully," were you hoping for a better price? Sorry, couldn't resist! [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/biggrin.gif[/img]

[This message has been edited by RAD (edited 08-28-2001).]

- wondersofwine - 08-28-2001

I'm going to let a wine board expert answer the reasonably priced question. My own recommendation is that next time you try dining at Cioppino's. They do have reasonably priced wines and are recognized by Wine Spectator magazine for their extensive cellar and wine expertise and special wine dinner events. (Tell Tracy and Susan I sent you their way).

- Innkeeper - 08-28-2001

Could not find either of them on wine-searcher, with or without a vintage. Did you get the names right?

- Botafogo - 08-28-2001