WineBoard
No clue.....please help! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: No clue.....please help! (/thread-15930.html)

- pinkpanther97 - 01-31-2004

Hello All,
Ok I am new to this whole wine thing. The only wine that I have ever had is at mass, which often times is REALLY to strong for my taste. I am looking for some insight all together, but more specifically for a nice romantic evening. We both like sweet stuff, like strawberry-banana wine coolers, is you know what those taste like, just to give you an idea of the sweetness level. So far this is what I have picked-up from other message boards. Riesling and American Gewurtztraminer are a good sweet and not syrupy wine. Italian Prosecco is good with choc. and strawberries, and a good bottle can be bought for about $12. Then Martini & Rossi Asti Spumanti is good also. I am looking for a wine to go with dinner, and a wine to just sip while walking on the beach at night. If weather has anything to due with it,please let me know, this is for our first vacation together this summer in mid-June. Any help is welcomed and much thanks!

- wineguruchgo - 01-31-2004

Hello Pink!

Welcome to the wineboard.

I definately would start with Riesling or Gewurtztraminer. The wines from Germany are not that expensive.

Another wine you might like is Sauvignon Blanc. Although this wine finishes dry (I would use it with food) it tastes like fresh mangos and melon.

When trying a new wine please remember that the first sip doesn't count. If your tastebuds aren't ready for it then it will be a shock. After a few sips your mouth will be less shocked and you will enjoy it more.

I'm sure the others will have advice for you as well.

- Innkeeper - 01-31-2004