WineBoard
Pasta and Wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Wine/Food Affinities (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: Pasta and Wine (/thread-1364.html)

- Tarheel - 12-10-1999

I know that wine is the preferred topic of choice, but I was hoping to get recipie suggestion as well as wine pairing advice. (As I have read wonderful culinary advice on this board prior) There is a pasta dish that I love from this great Italian restaurant that consists of farfalle, spinach, tomatoes, and goat cheese. Seems simple, but before I take on the challenge myself any advice would be appreciated (as I am new to the kitchen) Also, any wine suggestions? Note-we both are red wine drinkers and live on the east coast.
Thanks in advance! Love this board!

- Thomas - 12-11-1999

Not being familiar with the dish you post, I can only say general things like: do not overcook the pasta (8 to 10 minutes in already boiling water--I lean toward the 8 side for firm "al dente" pasta).

Spinach is tricky. First, it needs to be fresh and crisp and cleaned well. Perhaps someone who knows the dish will disagree, but I would cook the spinach separately, and then add it back to the dish on serving. To cook it, just a quick wilting in a mixture of olive oil and butter (maybe a dash of sugar, if you are inclined).

The rest of the stuff, the tomato and cheese, I suppose is chopped and fresh.

And where is the garlic? Got to have garlic; perhaps maybe even a shallot.

If you are not a white wine drinker at all, then you should stay with a fruity, but light red.

- Randy Caparoso - 12-18-1999