WineBoard
Marsanne - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Rhone/South of France/Wines/Varieties (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-31.html)
+--- Thread: Marsanne (/thread-11826.html)

- misterjive - 02-01-1999

I would be interested to know if anyone has had good Marsanne from Australia.

- Jerry D Mead - 02-01-1999

This is another grapes (not unlike Viognier) that I just do not understand the excitement about...from here, there or anywhere.

I think there are solid reasons it almost died out.

Truthfully, I'm no expert on them, but what experiences I've had failed to move me.

JDM

- Bucko - 02-01-1999

Mitchelton used to make a quite nice one. I have not had one in a couple of years.

Bucko

- Joe Schmoe - 02-14-1999

Thomas Mitchell Marsanne 1996, lightly oaked is a remarkably good drink at the moment, with some nice limey, Semillon characters about it. This, I believe is the second label from the aforementioned Mitchelton winery .I drank this at Roscoff in Belfast.(If you want to try the best 'Pacific Rim meets Classic French' food in Great Britain, go there.)

I am however, a great fan of good Marsanne.

After all, Hermitage Blanc can be sensational, but (and its a big but), Marsanne really only shows its true colours with age. The largest planting of Marsanne in the world is in Goulburn Valley in Victoria, where Mitchelton (only set up in the seventies) and Chateau Tahbilk (one of the most picturesque and certainly one of the oldest wineries in Australia (circa 1860) do most of the growing. I believe they grow 250 ha between them of Marsanne, far out-growing what remains in the Rhone. Largely I agree with WC's comments.