WineBoard
Roast Duck with Orange sauce and what knid of wine? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Wine/Food Affinities (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: Roast Duck with Orange sauce and what knid of wine? (/thread-1170.html)

Pages: 1 2

- mgmartin - 02-07-2001

I'm new with wines. Like the topic says I'm going to be cooking Roast Duck with Orange sauce but what wine should I serve? Red or white? Brand? Please keep the price under $40 unless there is a "MUST HAVE" for more than that. Also is there a "rule" to follow. Example use white's with fish and red's with beef, ect? Thanks for you help.

- Catch 22 - 02-08-2001

Welcome to the board, mgmartin. I normally drink a Pinot Noir with duck. However, I don't use an orange sauce. I don't know how that might affect the pairing, but I'm sure others will jump in if I'm off base. As a thought, possibly a Syrah might go
with the duck as well. As far as brands and price, go to your local wine merchant and see what they would recommend. You have plenty of options within your price range.

- Innkeeper - 02-08-2001

You need a red with high acidiy to handle the orange. The pinot that Catch 22 recommended could do the trick. We think that a cabernet franc from the Loire Valley would be a little better for these reasons: it is a little higher in acidity than the pinot; the green, herbaceous notes match better with the dish; and Duck a l'Orange is a regional dish of the Loire. Look for Chinon, Bourgueil, Anjou Rouge, or Saumur-Champignay. IMHO the Saumur would be best; you can get a good one for $14 or $15, or you could blow your whole budget.