WineBoard
Borsao/Campo De Borja - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Spanish Wines/Varieties (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-35.html)
+--- Thread: Borsao/Campo De Borja (/thread-10318.html)

Pages: 1 2

- Tom 1960 - 11-18-2001

I just picked this one up for 5.99 at a local wine store which also held a wine tasting. This was one of the wines featured and it appealed to me. Has anyone else heard of this and what are your opinions? I'm not good at describing what I'm tasting yet but it seems I'm tasting a hint of licorice amongst the fruity bouquet. I also want to add it's a blend of 75% Garnacha and 25% Tempranillo. 14% alcohol.

[This message has been edited by Tom 1960 (edited 11-18-2001).]

- zenda2 - 11-18-2001

Tom,
Just picked a bottle up midweek, haven't opened it yet. Price is certainly right, and I haven't met with a bad garnacha yet.

- newsguy - 11-19-2001

i had posted on this wine last month under that "Best Buys" category. so excuse the double-post, but since you asked...

dark garnet color. 75 percent grenache, 25 percent tempranillo; tank-fermented and aged. full, sweet flavors of red fruit (black cherries?) and earth, with a touch of dark fruit (currants?). soft tannins and a surprisingly long finish. i liked it, and RP liked it (89). if you see it, try it. i'm thinking you might like it too, especially at the price of $4.99.

- Tom 1960 - 11-19-2001

Good going guys,sorry newsguy I missed that post. I hadn't even thought of purchasing a Spanish Wine until I gave it the taste test the other night. Had it with some ribs tonite and have to say it is was quite enjoyable. A keeper.

- Drew - 07-31-2002