WineBoard
Oregon - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Sauvignon (Fume) Blanc/Semillon/White Bordeaux (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-33.html)
+--- Thread: Oregon (/thread-10110.html)

- Panoswine - 02-10-2006

Hello, this is my first posting on this bulletin board. I am a wine writer working for various media, and would like to know your opinions on Oregon, given a recent story that I had published in [url]Decanter[/url]. Just beginning to learn about Oregon wines, I was somewhat surprised that the economic impact of Oregon's wine industry is so much smaller than that of New York's, so I guess there is only room for growth in Oregon. Does anyone have anything to say about pricing of Oregon Pinot? Is it too high? Too low? Just right? I am thinking about how high Napa Valley wines have gone in price... Or what about latest developments in winemaking in the state. Well, if anyone cares to chime in, that would be great. Thanks in advance.

best,
Panos

[This message has been edited by Panoswine (edited 02-10-2006).]

- wondersofwine - 02-10-2006

Welcome to the board. Hope you will return often. Strasbourg is a beautiful city. I visited there several times while living in Germany staying in Hotel Rohan right by the Cathedral.
I personally think that wineries such as Lange, Torii Mor and Ponzi price their wines fairly (except for the Ponzi Pinot Noir Reserve) but others such as Archery Summit and Domaine Drouhin Oregon are overpriced.
I enjoy many Oregon Pinot Noirs and also some Pinot Blancs and Arneis.
Argyle (now owned by an Australian firm, Petaluma) produced an interesting limited production of simulated ice wine from Pinot Noir grapes. They picked very ripe Pinot Noir grapes and froze them at -8 degrees to produced a very sweet "ice wine."
I hope others will chime in with their take on Oregon wines.